Eel Encyclopedia
The Biological Characteristics & Breeding Captivity Of Eel

Most eels having long, cylindrical flat tail body & some species are with colour spots on the body. The upper & lower jaws are full with fine teeth. Scales are very small, hidden and buried subcutaneously with low dorsal & anal fin; the back ended with caudal fin. The pectoral fins are small, round and without pelvic fins. Eel is river & sea migratory fish. The mature eel will swim back to the deep sea to spawn. Eel larvae are transparent and are known as Glass Eels. During spring, eel larvae will follow the sea current and reached to the seashore of certain selected region and when they growth to the size of elvers then they will swim back to the rivers and settle down at the tributaries or lakes to feed on small fish, shrimp and aquatic insects. Eels are nocturnal based, fast growing animals with tender & greasy meat, rich in nutrition.

There are 18 types of eels around the World, 4 types are found in Taiwan inclusive of Japanese eel, Perch eel, Celebes eel & Short-finned eel. They have been survived in Earth for thousands of years but we only get to know them in recent decades. In 1991, we have discovered the spawning grounds and noticed that the sex of the eel is much depending on the population density and the environment factors. When the population density is high and lead to insufficient of food, then they will become male fish and contrary to become female mother eel. In Taiwan, the eel population density in the rivers is low, and therefore most of the eels are female.

 
The Morphology Of Eel

The elvers, each with the body length of about 6cm, weight 0.1gm, small head, thin & transparent body is also called Capelin. Its body fluids density is same with the sea water; this makes it easily to drift with currents to travel around. Some elvers travel with the Kuroshio Current for about six months from the spawning ground to reach to the beach of Taiwan. One month before arriving to the shore, it began to metamorphosis for a slender and transparent body which is known as the glass fish. In the month of December to January, the Taiwan fishermen were in busy hand to start fork net fishing at the coasts between the river mouths hunting for elvers and sold them to the eel farms. The elvers under human breeding captivity will start changes slowly to yellow colour appearances and then turned into silver adult eels.

The Natural Living Habitat Of Eel

Eel is a migratory fish, originating from the sea; grew up in the fresh water and return to the sea for spawning. During spring time, large group of eel larvae (also known as “white glass fish”) flows with the Sea-Current reach to the coast and enters the estuary. Male eels mostly stay and grow within the estuary, and female eels swim against the freshwater current of the river to travel up to the upper stream of the river, the tributaries and lakes that connected to. Some may even travel thousands of kilometers to reach the upper stream of the river. They will be settled down, grow & develop at the place where they have finally chosen. Eel is often nocturnal and hunts for small fish, crab, shrimp, crustaceans and aquatic insects during the night with low moon light. It has a strong absconded ability and able to swim against strong flow current, and likes burrowing and slow water flowing environment.

During the autumn, the female eels that have reached the age of sexual maturity will swim down in large groups to the down river stream or river mouth to meet up with the male eels and then they will travel all the way to the deep ocean sea for mating & spawning. At approximately 30 degrees North Latitude of the South East of South China Sea, with temperature between 16 - 17° C, a 30% salt content of sea water with the depth of 400-500M, female eels most likely chosen this type of environment as their spawning ground. Each time a female eel may lay small eggs between 700 million to 1 trillion of each at about 1 mm in diameter. The eggs are floating and incubate within 10 days. After hatching, the larvae gradually rise to the water surface, and later to be drifted by the currents to the coast of China, Japan, Korea, Taiwan & South East Asia.

Now, the larvae are about a year old, and will develop into white transparent elvers one month before they reach to the coast. They start migrating to the river mouths when they are still in white & transparent colour during the beginning stage of the migration, and turns into black eels mixed with small amount of white eels at the last stage of the migration. The gonads of the eel cannot be developed well and breed in the fresh water. The gonads development of the female eel will be completed only during the time they returned to the river mouth and heads towards the deep ocean sea. Eel will loss of appetite when temperature drops to 15°C or higher than 30°C and stop feeding totally when the water temperature drops to 10°C and to start sneaked into the mud for hibernation. Eel can use the skin to breathe; it will not be dead as long as the skin is keeping wet & moist.

 
The Breeding & Reproduction Of Eel

Eel larvae cannot be nurtured apart of getting from the natural wild. This is because eel has a very unique life cycle and it is very difficult to analog a man-made environment like that within today’s technology.

Eels grow in the fresh water river up to mature size and start migration to swim down the river mouth and heads to the deep sea for spawning. Unlike the trout and salmon; adult trout & salmon will swim back from the sea to the upper stream of the freshwater river for spawning.

Eels will travel thousands of kilometers to the deep ocean to seek for a suitable environment for spawning. The sea between Philippines, Indonesia & Malaysia also found their spawning ground. The scientist found these spawning grounds because of the large amount of hatched eel larvae are found there. Eel breeds in the deep sea and growth in the freshwater with ferocious temperament, bulimia, hyperactive, nocturnal, loves fresh, warm, slow flowing current and burrowing characters makes scientist difficult to imitate its breeding environment.

Adult eels are round mediocre in appearance; like a conical shape, black colour and some species with colour spots and commonly found throughout the year, but most plump and delicious during summer or winter season. It is nutrient-rich, less bone, fleshy and mostly farmed by eel farms.

 
About Intensive Aquaculture In Eel Bleeding Program

Intensive Aquaculture Farming
Depending on the sizes and conditions of the proposed farm, basically intensive aquaculture farms are using fiberglass made breeding tanks to breed glass eels (approximate 0.03g each) with area of 3 – 4 m² and density of 10 – 15kg per m². When glow to 5gm, elvers will be transferred to larger tanks with area of 6 – 8 m² and density of 50 – 75 kg per m². In Malaysia, most fiberglass tanks are manufactured with basic measurement of 1.219m ( 4ft ) wide X 2.438m ( 8ft ) long X 1.219m ( 4ft ) height.

Carbonate Hardness, PH & Living Environment For Eel
The most suitable living environment for eels is hard water with Carbonate Hardness of not less than 8.5, PH ranging from 6 to 7.8 and the water temperature of 26°C to 28°C. Eels will stop feeding if the water temperature is exceeding 30°C and if the temperature between day and night is difference by more than 3°C; diseases such like white spots, gill diseases and tail rotting diseases may be infected throughout the entire breeding tank and system.

 

Water Quality Control
Water quality control is the key towards the success of high productivity and efficiency in eel farming. First, we have to change the water at least 2 to 3 times monthly, each time at approximately 15CM. This practice must be increased to more frequently change of water during the later breeding stage. Secondly, the paddle wheel oxygen aerator must be switch on for at least 8 hours daily during the hot and warm days and to be regulated accordingly to the changes of temperature and weather conditions.

Thirdly, regular use of biological agents; at the later part of the breeding stage, because high quantity of baits, foods & excreta remains in the pond, the water quality will easily turns bad. Biological agent such like EM micro plasma will be used at a ratio of 500gm /acre, twice a month to be added to the ponds. Others such like Photosynthetic bacteria and Bacillus will be used for disinfection purposes. Intensive farming system will be equipped with precision instruments such like water filters, water circulation systems, oxygen & ozone generator, protein, colloids and toxic agent removers to meet the international intensive aquaculture requirements.

鳗鱼的生物学特性及人工养殖技术

鳗鱼体长,圆筒形,尾部稍侧扁。上下颌具细齿。鳞甚小,隐埋于皮下。背、臀鳍低,基部长,后端均与尾鳍相连。胸鳍小,圆形。腹鳍缺失。体无斑点。属于降河性洄游鱼类。海中产卵。仔鱼为透明的叶鳗,春季,当仔鱼发育成幼鳗时,成群游人江河,在于支流或湖泊中肥育,成熟后降河泅游至海中繁殖,以食小鱼、蟹、虾和水生昆虫为主。一般夜间活动。生长迅速,肉质细嫩多脂、营养丰富。现已进行人工养殖。

鳗鱼为鳗鲡科动物鳗鱼的肉或全体。鳗鱼属鱼类,似蛇,但无鳞,一般产于咸淡水交界海域和湖泊中。鳗鱼在全世界有18种,其中台湾有日本鳗、鲈鳗、西里伯斯鳗和短鳍鳗四科,但是只有日本鳗最多,其它三种都甚少见。它们在地球上都存活了几千万年,但我们对它们的了解也只不过是最近的几十年。譬如1991年才发现它的真正产卵场,它的性别原来最受环境因子和密度的控制,当密度高,食物不足时会变成公鱼,反之变成母鱼。在台湾河川中由于鳗鱼数量很少,所以大多是母鱼。

 
鳗鱼的形态和生态

鳗鱼的仔鱼体长体长6厘米左右,体重0.1克,但它的头狭小,身体高、薄又透明像片叶子一般,所以称为柳叶鱼。它的体液几乎和海水一样,所以可以很省力地随着洋流作长距离的漂送。从产卵场漂回黑潮海流再流回台湾的海边大概要半年之久,在抵达岸边前一个月才开始变态为身体细长透明的鳗线,又称为玻璃鱼。所以在每年12-1月间渔民们会忙着在河口附近的海岸用手叉网来捕捞正要溯河的鳗线来卖给养殖户。养殖户在买回去放养后才慢慢有色泽出现,变成黄色的幼鳗和银色、黑色或棕色的成鳗。

 
鳗鱼的生活习性

鳗鲡是一种降河性洄游鱼类,原产于海中,溯河到淡水内长大,后回到海中产卵。每年春季,大批幼鳗(也称白仔、鳗线)成群自大海进入江河口。雄鳗通常就在江河口成长;而雌鳗则逆水上溯进入江河的干、支流和与江河相通的湖泊,有的甚至跋涉几千公里到达江河的上游各水体。它们在江河湖泊中生长、发育,往往昼伏夜出,喜欢流水、弱光、穴居,具有很强的溯水能力,其潜逃能力也很强。到达性成熟年龄的个体,在秋季又大批降河,游至江河口与雄鳗会合后,继续游至海洋中进行繁殖。据推测其产卵场在北纬30度以南和中国台湾的东南附近,水深400-500米,水温16-17℃,含盐量 30% 以上的海水中,1次性产卵,1尾雌鳗1次可产卵700-1000万粒。卵小,直径1毫米左右,浮性,10天内可孵化。孵化后仔鱼逐渐上升到水表层,以后被海流漂向中国、朝鲜、日本沿岸,此时仔鱼约为1龄,冬春在近岸处变为白苗,并随着色素的增加而变为黑苗。开始溯河时为白苗,到溯河后期则以黑苗为主,混杂少量白苗。鳗鲡的性腺在淡水中不能很好地发育,更不能在淡水中繁殖,雌鳗鲡的性腺发育是在降河洄游入海之后才得以完成。

鳗鲡常在夜间捕食,食物中有小鱼、蟹、虾、甲壳动物和水生昆虫,也食动物腐败尸体,更有部分个体的食物中发现有高等植物碎屑。摄食强度及生长速度随水温升高而增强,一般以春、夏两季为最高。池养的鳗鲡在盛夏时摄食强度降低。水温低于15℃ 或高于30℃时,食欲下降,生长减慢;10℃以下停止摄食。冬季潜入泥中,进行冬眠。鳗鲡能用皮肤呼吸,有时离开水,只要皮肤保持潮湿,就不会死亡。

 
鳗鱼的繁殖方式

鳗鱼苗不能用人工繁殖来培育,这主要是因为鳗鱼有很特别的生活史,很难在人为环境下来模拟。日本鳗在淡水的河川里长大为成鳗,到了夏天就开始降海洄游,也就是由河川游到海洋去产卵,和鳟鱼、鲑鱼由海洋中游回河川去产卵的溯河洄游正好相反。它的产卵场远在几千公里以外的海洋,在介于菲律宾,印尼和马来西亚等中间的深海也可发现它们的产卵场。科学家发现这些产卵场主要是因为在这些国家的河口采获很多它刚孵化的仔鱼。

鳗鱼在深海中产卵繁殖,在淡水环境中成长。性情凶猛,贪食,好动,昼伏夜出,趋旋光性强,喜流水,好暖。成鳗生长快,外表圆碌碌,似圆椎形,色泽乌黑,近年较多人工养殖,肉质爽脆。此鱼一年四季皆常见,但以夏冬两季最为肥美可口。鳗鱼营养丰富,味道鲜美,少刺多肉,并具有清凉解暑、滋补强身的作用。

 
有关鳗鱼在室内密集养殖场的条件及设施

室内密集养殖场条件
视有关室内密集养殖场的基本条件而定,一般室内养殖场都采用玻璃纤维制成的养殖箱来养殖日本鳗鱼。其基本面积为采用3 /4平方米作为养殖小鳗鱼花(玻璃鱼:每条大约0.33公克) 密集度为每平方米10/15 公斤。当每条长至5公克时将转移至6/8平方米的养殖场,其密集度为每平方米50至75公斤。有关密集度也必须以饲料蛋白质的含量为准。饲料蛋白质的含量若超越50%或以上,其密集度也必须降低。

鳗鱼的居住环境、水的碳酸盐硬度、碱度与PH值
最合适鳗鱼的水质和生活环境是硬水中碳酸盐硬度不小于8.5,PH值介乎6至7.8,水温26°C至28°C。 如果水温超过30℃,鳗鱼将停止进食。在白天和黑夜之间的温度的差异如果超过3°C;鳗鱼就可能被感染如白色斑点,鳃病和尾部腐烂病等疾病而且整个养殖池和系统也可能被感染。

 

水质的控制
水质控制是提高鳗鱼养殖的生产力和效率的主要关键。首先,每个月我们必须更换水至少2到3次,每次约15厘米。在后阶段的养殖期间,这种做法必须增加至更频繁地换水以便保持水质的控制,减少水中的氨和硝酸盐含量。

其二,在署热的天气期间,桨轮增氧机必须开启至少每天8小时以便增氧同时要监管水的温度和天气的转变。第三,定期使用微生物制剂控制水质。因为在繁殖阶段的后半期经过大量的喂食饲料后,鱼的排泄物仍然在养殖池使到水质容易变坏。使用微生物剂例如类似EM微等离子体将于每月添加两次以500克/英亩的比例投入养殖池。其他的微生物剂像光合细菌和芽孢杆菌等,将被用于作为消毒的作用。室内密集养殖场将配备精密仪器以便去除和分解蛋白质,排泄物和有毒物质等以便达到国际养殖水准的要求。